Hasan Ali named Emerging Player of the Year

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli

After Virat Kohli won the ICC Cricketer Of The Year Award, 2017 his fans are celebrating and wishes are flowing in.

In the meanwhile, we must appreciate the hard work and perseverance displayed by Kohli and should not underestimate Kohli's great cricketing skills.

The awards were given away on the basis of the achievements of the players during the period between 21 September 2016, and 31 December 2017. Under his leadership, India topped the ICC Test team rankings.

"It means a lot to me to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year and ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year".

'It's called Test cricket for a reason and I'm very humbled to win that award.

"Two Indians getting back-to-back makes it more special".

De Villiers is also a former ICC ODI player of the year.

Smith's numbers were equally mind-boggling. In Ashes itself, Smith scored 687 runs at an average of 137.40 which drew comparisons with Don Bradman.

He also accumulated 1,818 ODI runs, which included seven centuries, at an average of 82.63.

Smith was named the Test Cricketer of the Year for the second time after previously winning the award in 2015. Rashid, on the other hand, picked 60 wickets for Afghanistan in 2017, a record for an Associate player in a calendar year. I was pleased with the way I played but what pleased me most of all was that I helped us win Tests and, most importantly, The Ashes.

Virat Kohli (captain) (India), Dean Elgar (South Africa), David Warner (Australia), Steve Smith (Australia), Cheteshwar Pujara (India), Ben Stokes (England), Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper) (South Africa), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Mitchell Starc (Australia), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), James Anderson (England).

Moving to ODIs, Kohli was among the prime candidates to win the award.

Unsurprisingly, there were no West Indies players selected to the International Cricket Council Test and one-day teams-of-the-year, announced by the world governing body yesterday. Last time it was Ash (Ashwin) and this time I am getting it.

"Congratulations to Virat Kohli on becoming the ODI cricketer of the year and the ICC cricketer of the year". He also claimed three five-wicket hauls and played a massive role in Pakistan's Champions Trophy win in England - making him a shoo-in for the emerging player gong. Job satisfaction on the field is paramount, but worldwide recognition by the ICC is something that every player feels privileged as it is at a global level and is something that's very special to all the cricketers because you are competing against the best worldwide cricketers across the globe. Only two others have risen to the top at a better rate.

"It has been memorable past 16 months for me as a young player and Pakistan as a team".

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2017: David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), Babar Azam, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock (wk), Ben Stokes, Trent Boult, Hasan Ali, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah.

Latest News