Rohit Sharma equals fastest T20I century record

India striked early by sending Niroshan Dickwella back to the pavillion

India striked early by sending Niroshan Dickwella back to the pavillion

Rohit smashed 10 sixes and 12 fours before he was eventually dismissed for 118 in 43 balls. He smashed 2 fours and 2 sixes in his knock.

Preview: A dominant Indian team is expected to maintain its stranglehold on a miserable Sri Lanka and wrap up the three-match series when the two mismatched teams face off in the second Twenty20 worldwide on Friday.

Rohit, always revered as a special talent, is gradually creating his own legacy as he is the only batsman to have scored three double centuries in One-day cricket and now has two T20 hundreds to his name. He was well supported by other opener KL Rahul and the duo stiched a 165-run partnership for the first wicket. Kusal Perera's half-century kept Sri Lanka in the game for a while.

Once the 109-run second-wicket partnership between Upal Tharanga (47 off 29) was broken by leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal (4/52), the Lankans innings fell apart. This was after Rohit Sharma blasted his way to the joint fastest hundred in T20I as India subsequently brought up its highest score in twenty-twenty cricket.

But it was Sharma's 100 off 35 balls, matching South African David Miller's century against Bangladesh in October, that stood out. KL Rahul and Suresh Raina have one each.

However, Sri Lanka was all out just for 87 runs in 16 overs after its middle-order totally collapse. Sri Lanka had scored 260 for six against Kenya at Johannesburg in September 2007.

The bowlers were unable to find the right length on a pitch which gave no margins of error and each mistake was punished heavily by the Indian batsmen.

The series win here would mean India will remain unbeaten in bilateral series across formats in the year. He is the 1st Indian and 5th overall to do this, after Brendon McCullum (2010 and 2012), Chris Gayle (2007 and 2016), Evin Lewis (2016 and 2017), and Colin Munro (both 2017).

1 Sri Lankan had conceded more runs than Nuwan Pradeep's 61 today: Sanath Jayasuriya had figures of 4-0-64-0 against Pakistan at Johannesburg in the 2007 World T20.

Latest News